Atlas · Kenya / Carbon Projects
CARBON MARKETS

Carbon projects in Kenya

Carbon-credit projects registered with Gold Standard, Verra, ACR, ART and Plan Vivo, from the Berkeley Voluntary Registry Offsets Database (v2026-08) with Gold Standard registry details. Every project can be opened for its full record, and each map point says how its location was established.

Projects
354
170 active · 94 in the pipeline
Credits issued
87,709,256
tonnes CO₂-equivalent, all vintages
Credits retired
43,272,842
49% of issued
Nature-based · blue carbon
46 · 3
62 projects have a mapped location

Where the projects are

Only projects with a verified location are drawn. Click a point for its details; every click zooms in.

Loading…
Point colour is the Carbon Projects theme. The Location column shows how accurate each point is: Project location is exact as published by the registry, Programme location is shared by several projects, Named place and Area centre are approximate.

Community involvement

246 of 354 projects describe who they work with

Read from each project's own description. Where the text does not say, Atlas says so instead of guessing; project design documents in the registry are the place to check consultation and benefit-sharing.

Credits issued by vintage year

Tonnes of CO₂-equivalent

Credits issued by project type

Largest types

ProjectRegistryTypeStatusCommunity IssuedRetiredLocation
TIST Program in Kenya, VCS 009
VCS996 · Clean Air Action Corporation (PP)
Verra Afforestation/Reforestation Active
Registered
Not stated 299,772299,772 Country only
MicroEnergy Credits – Microfinance for Clean Energy Product Lines – Af...
VCS2836 · MicroEnergy Credits Corp (PP)
Verra Bundled Energy Efficiency Active
Verification approval requested
Not stated 291,5709,058 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 36
GS11294 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 272,99676,905 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 34
GS11292 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 271,18779,373 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 37
GS11295 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 268,290106,433 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 42
GS11300 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 266,27355,058 Country only
GS10884 - KOKO Kenya - Ethanol Cookstoves Program - CPA-0001
GS10885 · KOKO Network limited
Gold Standard Cookstoves Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
households 263,95184 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 38
GS11296 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 261,259105,497 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 39
GS11297 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 259,83954,551 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 35
GS11293 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 258,69968,883 Country only
MicroEnergy Credits – Microfinance for Clean Energy Product Lines – Af...
VCS2837 · MicroEnergy Credits Corp (PP)
Verra Bundled Energy Efficiency Active
Verification approval requested
Not stated 258,66222,390 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 33
GS11291 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 252,574101,915 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 40
GS11298 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 250,225121,217 Country only
MicroEnergy Credits – Microfinance for Solar Lamps in Kenya
VCS3767 · MicroEnergy Credits Corp (PP)
Verra Solar Lighting Active
Registered
Not stated 248,5520 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 41
GS11299 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 248,07857,706 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 32
GS11290 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 247,97472,675 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 44
GS11302 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 244,89954,633 Country only
OLKARIA III PHASE 2 GEOTHERMAL EXPANSION PROJECT IN KENYA
VCS881 · JPMorgan Ventures Energy Corportaion
Verra Geothermal Withdrawn or inactive
Late to Verify
Not stated 244,798244,798 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 43
GS11301 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 243,46749,735 Country only
Aqua Clara Water Filtration Program in Kenya
GS1078 · Climate Impact Partners Limited
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
households 242,718242,216 Project location
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 45
GS11303 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 238,88780,289 Country only
Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 31
GS11289 · Impact Carbon
Gold Standard Clean Water Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
schools 233,84875,317 Country only
Shimba Hills Improved Cook Stoves
GS824 · CO2balance UK ltd
Gold Standard Cookstoves Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
households +1 233,416218,981 Project location
CPA-KE-012-Kenya Samsung Project
GS11693 · GREEN DEVELOPMENT AS
Gold Standard Cookstoves Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
households 232,9350 Country only
GS7591 VPA 1 Western Kenya Borehole Rehabilitation Project
GS7557 · CO2balance UK ltd
Gold Standard Community Boreholes Active
Gold Standard Certified Project
households 220,358114,230 Country only
About this data. Project lists, status and credit totals come from the Berkeley Carbon Trading Project's Voluntary Registry Offsets Database v2026-08 (CC BY 4.0), which compiles the public registries. Gold Standard details and coordinates come from the Gold Standard public registry; Vanga Blue Forest and Mikoko Pamoja come from Plan Vivo. Figures change as registries update. Please cite the Berkeley database and the registry when you use them, and check a registry record before relying on a number.
Guest preview · 172s left Explore until the timer ends. Then you’ll be asked to log in or create an account (about two minutes) to keep going.
Ask Atlas